Sunday, January 29, 2006

Bug Juice and Kosher Food

E210 is a dye added to yogurt and ice cream, lipstick, fruit drinks, and more. Reddish in color, also known as Carmine, it is made from the body of the female, cactus sucking insect called Dactylopius coccus costa (picture). Other bug juice is known as cochineal extract.

Many Orthodox Jews know about this. When trying to figure out if ingredients are kosher, especially dyes, these number codes (E210) always send up a warning sign. That's about to change.

The FDA has just proposed a rule that would require ingredients to list Carmine or cochineal extract. According to CNN, comments on the proposed rule are due April 27. This will eliminate one problem when figuring out if ingredients are kosher or not.